Update and Big News!

Unfortunately, I haven’t had time to finish my post about day 2 of Yosemite.  But, the good news is that’s because I am in Denver to buy a new (to me) Lazy Daze!

Lately I had been thinking of carrying a scooter on the back of my rig, but CB (my Engineer friend) advised against it, as the structure underneath didn’t seem strong enough to hold it on a hitch-mounted ramp/rack.  A welder I went to see in Santa Fe agreed.  I started thinking of upgrading to a 26′ Lazy Daze, both for beefier structure/power and for more room.  I didn’t buy my Lazy Daze originally with plans to full-time in it.  I planned to have it for a few years, try it, learn the systems, see if I like it, then get a larger/newer rig when I retired and started full-timing.  But, things don’t always work out as you planned, and now here we are. On the road full time….

Anyway, I got to thinking about getting a larger Lazy Daze (mid-bath floorplan) and almost immediately saw one for sale near Denver.  Wow, what luck!  I was in Salida, CO, only about 150 miles away.  It sounded like a good candidate after talking on the phone with Cliff, the owner.  Chris mentioned it to our friend John in Colorado Springs.  (We met him and his wife, Linda, in Quartzsite in January).  He happened to be going right by there on the way to the Denver airport this past Friday morning, and offered to take a look and tell me if it was worth driving my rig over from the spot near Nathrop, where Chris and I were camped.  He looked it over, said it was in good shape and was worth making the trip in person.  So, I got my stuff together right away, drove over to Denver, met with Cliff Friday afternoon, checked it all out, and started working on a deal.  We just finalized the agreement Sunday, so now I can say I am about to have a new RV!  I expect to be able to finalize the transaction and pick it up on Thursday.  So excited!

In the meantime, I have been busy with working on –  a.) finding an RV park where I can stay a while in Denver (to sell my current Lazy Daze), b.) figuring out how to title it in TX while out of the state, c.) getting insurance, d.) etc., etc..  I expect to make a page on the blog here to post info and pictures in a couple of days as I get it for sale online.  So, if you know anyone in the market for a cozy cottage of an RV with a fantastic solar setup…..  🙂

1st Trip - Inks Lake State Park.  3/4/12

1st trip – Inks Lake State Park, TX. 3/4/12

Boondocked near Flagstaff, in the Coconino National Forest.  5/13/13

Boondocked in the Coconino National Forest near Flagstaff, AZ – 5/13/13

11 thoughts on “Update and Big News!

  1. I know what it is like buying and selling while in mid-travel so my heart goes out to you. But when it needs to be done, it needs to be done. Let me know when you have an ad worked out and I will paste it on a number of forums that I am on…..I know what good care you took of your Lazy Daze and now with solar even! Good luck!

    • Hi Chris! Hope you are enjoying some cools up in Vermont! Yep, it will be a challenge to have 2 rigs and work everything out. But, one day at a time… it all gets done. Thanks for the support!

      • Hey Guys — thought I’d sneak in a note —- Congrats Jeanne on finding just what you were looking for, so great when the doors open @ just the right time! Good luck with the high finances!
        Andy in Bisbee

  2. Wow – that is big news! Congrats! Of course, you won’t have any trouble selling your current LD. Love Salida. I was there about a month ago.

    Keep us posted!

    • Hi Kim! Thanks! Yes, we loved Salida, too. Their July 4th parade and festivities were great! Enjoyed reading of your latest travels. Congrats back atcha for your upcoming teaching career. I know you worked hard to make that happen, and now it’s almost here. Yay!

  3. Congratulations on your new home! I’ll be interested in seeing photos – that’s always fun – and also how everything works out, especially carrying a scooter on the back. I’ve thought of that, but haven’t done anything about it yet. How exciting! Good luck for a very fast sale on the current rig. 🙂

    • Hi Barbara! Thanks a bunch! Things are falling into place, hope the sale of the current rig does too. I’m a bit sad to let go of this rig, I have gotten it to be such a great home, but it’s time for the next step. Will let you know how it goes with the scooter. Will post more later. Unfortunately I didn’t think to take any photos while I was checking out the new rig, except for pics of the hitch and the underneath. And no one wants to see those! 😉 Hugs to Katie for me.

    • Hi Melinda! Yes, I have started on the ad for the LD site, using the template provided. Definitely will post there.
      You sure have been busy yourself, with all you are getting done while in Alaska this summer! And I’m sure Chris would want me to say hi from him too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

