Catching Up

I’m always behind in my blogging.  I need to catch up.  We are back at Storrie Lake State Park in Las Vegas, after spending a week at Iska’s in Santa Fe again.  So, briefly, here are some shots of the past 3-4 weeks or so.

Here is one reason I haven’t blogged lately – my new toy.  An inkle loom I found in Santa Fe when we were at Iska’s the first time.  It makes bands: belts, straps, trim, etc.

Inkle Loom

Inkle Loom and book, with my first project warped, ready to start weaving.

Working on my first band

Weaving my first inkle band

I have made several bands and am getting better at it.  It’s a nice, small loom.  Easy to weave in my RV, or take outside and use it on the table in my shelter.  Just finished weaving a band with Rasta colors today.  Still need to finish the ends and get a couple of D-rings to make a belt.

Rasta color Belt

Rasta Belt

Anyway, we’ve been camping with the gals again lately:

Barbara and Katie

Barbara and Katie

Annie and Jake

Annie and Jake

We had a nice 4th of July cookout with John, our camphost and friend:

July 4th Cookout

July 4th Cookout

John took a picture of us gals one day when we were out walking the dogs and he was out taking pictures of some baby birds.

Me, Annie and Barbara with Riley, Jake and Katie

Me, Annie and Barbara with Riley, Jake and Katie

We were all parked together in a row. A nice neighborhood:

From left - Barbara, Me, John, and Annie

From left – Barbara, Me, John, and Annie

After 2 weeks at Storrie, Riley and I headed up to Heron Lake.  The plan was to bounce between Heron Lake and El Vado Lake for a month or two.  We had to pass through Santa Fe, so stopped for a week with Iska and Larry.  We caught another couple of bands at the Plaza – The Rifters and Ballroom Thieves.

The Rifters playing at the Santa Fe Bandstand

The Rifters playing at the Santa Fe Bandstand.

Santa Fe Plaza concertgoers

Folks enjoying the Santa Fe Plaza concert

Sunset at Iska's

Sunset at Iska’s

Plans changed when Barbara went up to Heron Lake and found out the Verizon tower up there was out, due to a storm.  She came back to Las Vegas, and Annie and I decided to do the same.  We ran into Ryan here, who Riley and I saw at Quartzsite and Yuma in Jan./Feb. last year.

New Age Nomad Ryan

New Age Nomad Ryan

Ryan has been out to Heron and El Vado (when the Verizon was working), and more recently, Coyote Creek State Park.  We picked his brain on how the Verizon is up there.  Sounds like it’s workable (plus the campground has wifi), so Riley and I will probably try Coyote Creek once our stay is up here at Storrie.

Nancy is here, and Renee, who we met here a couple of weeks ago.   Annie got back here just after Riley and I pulled in on Wednesday.  Then Roxanne drove up after getting her new cast in Las Cruces.  Annie and Roxi and I are sharing a site (it’s been great!), but plan to spread out when 2 electric sites open up tomorrow.  Barbara got back on Thursday.  She and Nancy are sharing the site next to us until Nancy heads out in a couple of days.  And we met Paula, but she left today.  We have all been hanging out and walking dogs. We had a happy hour the other day and grilled together yesterday.  Life is good.  🙂

New Mexico Sunset

New Mexico Sunset (with Roxanne and Annie)

All caught up.  Yay!

8 thoughts on “Catching Up

  1. Hi Jeannie…..and tell all the gals “Hi” too…..miss you guys!!! Love the NM pics. Too bad about the Verizon tower. All the dogs look great (along with their owners!).

Leave a comment