Quick Update

Riley and I are in Albuquerque after a GREAT time with the Ladeze (the Lazy Daze ladies) up near Taos.  We came to ABQ for an appointment at Statkus Engines.  It’s time for some 60,000 mile service on my RV and Statkus is a very respected shop.  They did a front end alignment for me last year after Balloon Fiesta and wrote up a quote for a bunch of 60k stuff, so am back and getting it done.  Plus, I had a list of other things to check/replace/flush, etc.  It’s so much work that it’s taken all day today, and will continue tomorrow.  I said ‘I am living in it’ and they let me stay the night where they were working on it.  So, here I am, on the lift where they finished at 5:00.  At least it’s down on the ground!

StatkusMy Lazy Daze friend Kathy was here today getting work done, too.  Last night we had dinner in Old Town with Lisa, another Ladeze attendee.

Lisa-Kathy

Lisa and Kathy on the way to dinner at Church Street Cafe

Today Kathy and I toured around the Old Town Plaza and shops while killing time waiting for our RV repairs.

Kathy-OldTownWe will be in Albuquerque through the Balloon Fiesta (Oct 4th-12th).  I have been organizing the Lazy Daze group at the Fiesta, so we will get there early and stay to the end.  Hope to get some blogging done between now and the end of the month.  I have lots of pictures to sort through from Santa Fe and Ladeze.  More later….

By the way, I know I am severely lacking in pictures of Riley lately.  So, here’s one from earlier this month, on a morning hike in the hills behind Iska’s place in Santa Fe.

Riley Hike

9 thoughts on “Quick Update

  1. Does your repair shop take any RVs? Not just Lazy Daze rigs? Seems like your LD friends go there, and I was just wondering… for next year. Are his prices pretty reasonable?

    Glad you had such a good time at the Ladies gathering. I look forward to hearing more about it. 🙂

    • Hi Barbara! Yes, they do other motorhomes. They always have several class A’s in there. Their prices are reasonable. I showed the work order quote to folks last year and was told it looked like a good price for the work. They didn’t try to sell me more. Some items I had them check and didn’t need additional work (emergency brake, differential, brakes). Seems like an honest family shop. Plus, a very clean and comfortable waiting room and rest room area. I’m very happy to get my stuff done there while in ABQ.

  2. Thanks for the update. I’ll be visiting Statkus also when in the area. I’m back in NM and working my way slowly toward ABQ for the Balloon Fiesta. Looking forward to meeting you and the other LDers.

  3. Looks like you are staying (all jack-up) for a day or two 🙂 Watch out for those low flying Balloons at the Balloon Fiesta. Hope you guys have lots of fun.

  4. Just checking to see where you are these days. we live near Austin, have 2002 23.5 LD
    our first LD was a 2000 30 ft. due to husbands health downsized to the 24 ft. I think we should have gone for the 26 ft, But this one was available one of our south central LD group was selling theirs.

    Enjoy your travels!!

Leave a Reply

